Monday, December 7

hockey worldz 2

Tuesday December 8, 2009

Police fail to turn up for tourney

UiTM were crowned as the Division One champions after Selangor Police failed to turn up for their match in the Selangor Hockey League at the Pandamaran Hockey Stadium on Sunday.

After waiting almost 15 minutes, the organising committee decided to award the match to UiTM with a 3-0 score.

With the three points, UiTM amassed 18 points and moved to the top of the table and were declared the champions in the eight team Division One league. RAMD, with 17 points, were runners-up while JLJ, with 16 points, finished third.

Deputy organising chairman P. Kuganesan said Selangor Police did not give any reason for their absence.

“We had to follow the competition rules and UiTM were awarded the three points,” Kuganesan said.

RAMD Juniors were declared the champions in Division Two. In the 12-team league, RAMD Juniors completed their fixtures unbeaten with 33 points. Selangor Indian Association (SIA), who were one of the front runners for the title, settled for the runners-up spot with 27 points followed by SMKPP with 24 points.

The top five teams in Division One — UiTM, RAMD, JLJ, Olak, Projek 11-A — and top three teams in Division Two — RAMD Juniors, SIA and SMKPP — have qualified for the quarter-finals to be played at the Pandamaran Hockey Stadium tonight and tomorrow.

The most interesting match up will be the match between UiTM and Olak at the Pandamaran Hockey Stadium in Klang tonight.

In the league, UiTM put up a gallant displayed and outclassed Olak 5-2. However, in the quarter-finals, Olak, with several seasoned players on their side, are expected to give UiTM a tough time.

The second quarter-final match is between Prokek 11 - A and SMKPP. Projek 11 - A comprises players from the Selangor Sports School while SMKPP is from Kuala Selangor.

Tomorrow, RAMD Juniors will take on JLJ in the first match while RAMD clash with SIA in the second match.

The semi-finals will be played on Monday and Tuesday and the final is on Dec 20.

The champions will win RM3,000 while RM1,500 and RM750 awaits the runners-up and third placed team.

The league is organised by the Selangor Hockey Association (SHA) and Milo have agreed to sponsor the medals.

from: The Star Online

No comments: